IMG_3297
This is a picture of a top view of the shoes. I colored the tip of the shoes blue because Scout is a Tomboy and loves to play with boys.
IMG_3298
This is a front view. I added little gems to represent that Scout is the most valuable character.
IMG_3299
This is a side view of the shoes. I added some pictures to represent Scouts memories and some of the people she cared about.
IMG_3300
This is a back view of the shoes. I put question marks because Scout was always thinking and I put Scouts name to represent that they are her shoes.

In the book “To Kill A Mockingbird” Atticus says “You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view–until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.” Scout is a funny, loving, caring, and honest person.  Scout never really thought about this until the end when she helped Boo get home, it was like she was seeing through Boo’s eyes. She saw everything in Boo’s point of view and painted a picture for us to see Boo’s looking at Jem, and Scout grow up. Scout does seem like the type of character who is careless, but once we take a look you will realize she’s not…

Scout is one of the main characters, she is a girl who starts to figure things out as she grows. “It would be best for you to have some feminine influence.” (170) She’s  a tomboy, she loved to play with the boys and hated wearing dresses. Her Aunt Alexandra told her she needed to be more ladylike, so she stayed at their house for a while. Scout doesn’t want to change who she is. “Hey Boo!” (362) She saw a man in the corner, then pointed and was just so kind and gentle because she somehow knew it was Boo. “I asked him to pass the damn ham, please” (105) This quote shows us that she is seeking attention. Scout is saying curse words so Atticus won’t make her go to school. This makes her an outspoken person, but not always in a bad way! “I split my knuckle to the bone on his front teeth. My left impaired, I sailed in with my right, but not for long.” (112) This quote is a  description of how she hit Francis in the face. She punched him no more than once because her uncle pinned her down. This makes her a competitive person because she always gets in fights when someone is talking trash about her or her family. “Atticus is Jem dead?” (353) This quotes tells us Scout is a curious person, she asks so many questions! When she asked Atticus if Jem was dead she was really scared, and worried. “Everybody’s gotta learn, nobody’s born knowin” (304) This quote right here shows us that Scout a really smart person. She is saying that people don’t just automatically know everything when they are born. You have to practice and do things to learn things. All these quotes are things that scout said or things that someone told Scout. These things make Scout the person she is and she doesn’t need anybody changing her because she’s unique and that is what makes a reader really like a character.

For Scout’s shoes I began with a pair of pink and black converse. I chose to go with pink converse because even though Scout is unladylike she is still a girl. On both shoes I put a strip of little diamond gems to symbolize that Scout was the shiny, and one of the most valuable characters which basically means she is one of the main characters.  I printed out some pictures and question marks. One of the shoes has some question marks which stand for Scout’s confusion, curiousness, and thinking. On that same shoe I put a picture of Scout because I thought that people should get an actual visual of her and so they know who she is. I also painted the tips blue with a sharpie to symbolize that she is a tomboy and that there’s another side of her. Scout loved to play with boys because she really never played with a girl in the story.  On the other shoe I put words that said Jem, Boo, and Atticus because those were some of the people she really cared about and always thought about. Then on on shoe I put a whole lot of pictures to act almost as memories or important things that happened. For example there are pictures of Atticus at the courtroom defending Tom, Atticus reading with Scout, A picture of Boo when Scout saw him in the corner, a picture of Jem and Dill, a picture of Jem, and Dill rolling Scout in a tire, a picture of Scout’s ham costume and finally a picture of a mocking bird. The reason I put a picture of a mocking bird was because Atticus told Scout that she could shoot all the birds she wants but not the mockingbirds because it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird. Scout really thought about that and so that is why I put it on the shoes. For the pedestal I used an old shoebox and covered it with wood scrap paper so it would look like some sort of a library desk. I also got some children’s books and stacked them up. I did this because Scout really liked to read.

Scout isn’t a careless character because Scout always worried and she always was curious and thoughtful. By doing this project I have really learned more about Scout because thought of her as a person that was just normal. Once I started this project I learned that Scout was more than normal…  she is funny, thoughtful, unladylike, honest, caring, and much more. The purpose of this essay was to help you get to know Scout a little bit better. I think that we learn a whole lot once we take a walk in someone’s shoes…

